Faith in God gives Purpose&Meaning to Human Life!

Faith in God is Essential in our day to day activity..

I wd like to recall an amazing incident in my life on this Easter Friday,

Which happened because I have Faith in God,when I had planned well in advance to go for the Passion Play at Oberramergau in 1984!

Oberammergau..

A Beautifully painted Oberramergau Street!

A Beautifully painted Oberramergau Street!

A unique place ..where Faith in God has given purpose and meaning to Human Life..When Plague attacked th entire Europe,a set of Faithfuls at Oberramergau,knelt before Jesus in 1633,praying to the Lord

“We will enact the Resurrection of Christ in TOtal Faith.Spare us Oh!Lord!!”

Only this village near the Alps was spared whereas even in Munich,just 30 Kms away millions perished in that worst epidemic ever in the continent!

Passion Play happens in total Faith..with the Head Catholic Priest of that Village comes as Jesus HImselfonce in 10 years!All the villagers take part and Tourists are accomodated in various houses..what an atmosphere with nearly 4000 in the audience for a breath taking Passion Play!

A painter giving finishing touches at the Theatre

A painter giving finishing touches at the Theatre

Once in 10 Years..My visit of 1984 to this wonerful Bavarian village..is most unforgettable!

About Passion Play from the Brochure

About Passion Play from the Brochure

Pls book your tickets right now for the 2014 Passion play..

You may be Lucky if you get it!!

The Passion PLay Troup on the Open Air Stage under the Alps-1984!

The Passion PLay Troup on the Open Air Stage under the Alps-1984!

The Village is Painted to a beauty..the atmosphere a Paradise
The Head Priest acts as Jesus
all others in a True spirit
Grow Natural Beards
Females are Virgins
They do this Once in 10 years!

A Scene from Passion Play

A Scene from Passion Play

The Stage is set with the Backdrop of Alps
No Cover for the stage except for the audience
Rain or shine they enact this Passion Play

The BEautiful Alps from the Stage

The BEautiful Alps from the Stage


The various plays since 1637
as found in the brochure given to me
Only in 1934 cause of Hitler
It cdn’t be enacted!

Old Passion Play pictures from the BRochure

Old Passion Play pictures from the BRochure

It has been going on&on all these years!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Munich
On the way to Austria
You should reserve much in advance
Next Passion Play 2014!
Pics:Courtesy Brochure given to me
when I attended in 1984!


How Do MIracles happen?

I normally reserve my airtkts much in advance and I did so in 1984
Reserved for Passion Play for me,mykids.4 tkts
I came on a Holiday to Chennai and my return tkt was booked by Air France
Bombay to Paris and Paris to Munich
all sectors was confirmed .
I just checked just a day before my departure from Madras with Indian Airlines
As I had to go to Bombay to catch Air France at 11:30 PM
They said My tkts for 2Pm flights confirmed(Tuesday)
On that day evening Indira Gandhi had dismissed NTR’s Govt in AP
All Trains were stopped to Delhi,chaos everywhere
On Wednesday I casually checked with IA for my 2 PM Flts
They said Our Tkts are not Confirmed!
I went to meet the Manager of IA
Mr.Ramasamy was surrounded by many MPs/MLAs and I cd nt enter his cabin
I had to take the 2pm flt if I had to attend the Passion Play next day
I begged him but he said “sorry”
I had the courage to shout at him
“Ramasamy I am going to sue Indian Airlines as I will lose heavily if I miss Air FRance
Besides you had told me YDay that my tkts were confirmed
I am also writing a letter to the Hindu right now and
atleast one of these guys here is a witness”
Ramasamy got a bit panicky on my shouting and checked my tkts
Indeed they had removed ournames from the Confirmed Passengers List!
He luckily obliged and got the tkts confirmed again!
It was a miracle on that day!

 

 

 

 

About s.rajah iyer

An MBA.. Interested in writing,Reading..Indian Philosophy
This entry was posted in Oberamergau, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Tks for your views.

