Mother’s Day is Every Day…

In Hindu scriptures,
God is given the FOurth Place..after
Matha,Pitha,Guru,Deivam..meaning
Mother is given the FIrst place..Father

the second,Guru or Acharya or your Teacher the third!

Basil..very sacred for a HIndu !

Basil..very sacred for a HIndu !

Mother is God’s gift…In today’s materialistic world,many of us try to ignore a mother’s plea or dont even care for her well being!Fortunately,I have ben able to spend a nice time towards the end of my mother’s earthly presence & her wishes have always been ‘wishing well not only fo me&my family but all near&dear.”

Basil Plant in that Sacred Pot

Basil Plant in that Sacred Pot

When my mother passed away in Srirengam,after a lonely life of 25 yrs,without seeking any favour from any one,I went there to wind up her belongings..

Amma's New year Greetings

Amma’s New year Greetings

 

In a lonely house next to her Renganathar,I cdn’t control my tears when I took stock of her earthly possessions…
Adi Sankara says
“Sura Mandira tharu moola nivasa;
sayya bhoothalamajinam vasaha;
sarva parikraha boha thyaga
kasya sugam na karothi viahaka.”
“If you live only on the beautiful sands of the beaches,
never care for any earthly possessions,
never care for a desire to earn anything at all..
giving up everything as an evil form of attachment…
He is the one who is the Happiest on earth”

I cdn’t find diamonds or Golden pieces..
I cdn’t find a sumptuous Bank Balance..
I cdn’t find even pass books..

execpting a few hand written notes of Ramayana & Kandha Shashti Kavasam…

Here she had lived in absolute Peace to her own self..not one or two years..

25 yrs after my father’s demise in 1974!

Alone means..none of her ‘worthy children’ ever cared for her!

While picking up a souvenir I took this one..a Pot for Basil Plant !

The Sacred Pot from my mother!

The Sacred Pot from my mother!

She used to pray this plant all her life thro as a Hindu is supposd to do..

(**see the note below)

So I took this plant&the pot..
Many Basil Plants have come & gone but I am keeping her Pot..
Intact which oscillates gently whenever there is a Sea Breeze…
smiling at me…
“Oh!Son..
I have always prayed to my Renganathar
that He will shower on you
everything the best in the world..
Believe me..”

A Mother’s affection & love is what you try to possess!
If not you shd sincerely make an attempt..
and

if it is too late
You will be going to your grave with

a LIfe Long Regret!

Basil..very sacred for a HIndu !

Basil..very sacred for a HIndu !

You may like this Blog too:-story of a watch

**Tulsi or Tulasi or Holy basil is a sacred plant in Hindu belief. Hindus regard it as an earthly manifestation of the goddess Tulsi, a consort of the god Vishnu. The offering of its leaves is mandatory in ritualistic worship of Vishnu and his forms likeKrishna and Vithoba.
Many Hindus have tulsi plants growing in front of or near their home, often in special pots or special small masonry structures. Traditionally, Tulsi is planted in the center of the central courtyard of Hindu houses.
The plant is cultivated for religious and medicinal purposes, and for its essential oil. It is widely known across Asia as a medicinal plant and a herbal tea, commonly used in Ayurveda.

About s.rajah iyer

An MBA.. Interested in writing,Reading..Indian Philosophy
This entry was posted in General, Personal, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mother’s Day is Every Day…

  1. Anonymous says:

    Very touching and inspirational write up on your Mother, who must have been divinity herself.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. V.SRIDHARAN says:

    I cherish your writings i our blog. Pray Lord Ranganathar for RIP your beloved mother.

    Like

  3. Venkatesh says:

    Good to know that your mother was as great as your father. Tks for a very moving tribute to her.

    Like

  4. Srinivasa Rao Govindan says:

    Excellent moving narration of one’s affection towards mother!

    Like

Tks for your views.

