For many,A High School Teacher is God Himself!

Karmegam,is a School mate of mine.

On Every Full moonday he never misses to go for Girivalam@Thiruvannamalai.

I come to know that it is a Full Moon Day because of his never Failing SMS..

“Suri..I am doing this Girivalam,praying sincerely for your family’s welfare!”

President's Award 1965

President’s Award 1965

Invariably,tears will blind my eyes,when I see this SMS!

Karmegam means,A  Dark Cloud-literally if translated.

Was it a Dark cloud around this wonderfil fellow in his early days?May be Yes.

My Father's last Photo in a function in Ramnad

My Father’s last Photo in a function in Ramnad

Dry lands of Ramnad produced drier people and their ability to think and do something great was relative to their intake- after all you need food which is hard to get.Karmegam was a young man who desired to excel in studies but poverty prevented him from pursuing what he wished to do.

One day he met his Teacher and explained to him his desire to study and his inabilty to come all the way from his village which was 15 kms away.He was also from a very poor SC Family,adding to his woes.His Teacher,being taken aback by this man’s

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

amazing enthusiasm and alertness in General Knowledge Quiz he did for him,said:”You can join VIvekananda Hostel and study well.But with a condition that you must excel every where to become an engineer ultimately to bring glory to this Ramnad!”

Well Karmegam used to live on frugal meals in that Hostel and did well to go to Engineering college as demanded by his Teacher.He excelled in Engineering and he became an authority in Water Management in India.He went to various conferences in UK,USA and presented his papers.One fine morning in 1990 he came to see me at a very early dawn.He greeted me with an young boy of 15 yrs age.

“Suri,I want you to bless my son….”

“Karmegam,come on man,who am I to bless your wonderful Boy?”

“I see my beloved Teacher in you and I want your blessings before he Joins his engg., college?”

“Nice to know he is going to do engg.All the very best and do well like your Dad?”I said

“You know ,Suri.He is a British Citizen!”

“Thats a great news Karmegam.How come?”

“well when I was in England I got married to a Malaysian Lady and we are nicely settled now and as you know I am the Director of Water Management at Anna University!”

“I am so proud that from such a background like Ramnad,you have come thro hard fought life and indeed you deserve everything in life,Karmegam”

“It is definitely my Teacher’s blessings and thats why I chose to take yours for my son too today.”

After a few years again Karmegam gave me a ring.

“Suri I am retiring as Director of Anna University tomorrow.But I want to confide with you that the Correspondent of Rajalakshmi Engg., college was after me for a while and he wants me to be the Dean!”

“Great news.Why dont you join,Karmegam”

“I want to take your blessings before I do that on MOnady -day after tomorrow”

He is now heading that Institution with Honour and Pride!

I sulked a bit ,as ,as a son I haven’t been telling my father many things in life and what great citizens this Teacher has produced.

Tho’ these anecdotes are not for self glorification,it may one day motivate others to emulate them to do more good to the society.

‘vidyadhanam sarva dhanam pradhanam

Pls read this Blog too:
http://creative.sulekha.com/mayalagu_136722_blog

About s.rajah iyer

An MBA.. Interested in writing,Reading..Indian Philosophy
This entry was posted in Education, General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to For many,A High School Teacher is God Himself!

  1. A.KANNAN says:

    We could study after SSLC because he took personal intrest in bringing Government arts college to Ramanathapuram way back in 1966. Without those facilities lot of students could not have gone for higher studies. He was regularly visiting college, which was temporarily functioning in palace to look into the amenities provided.
    A great teacher.

    Like

  2. R.Balasubramanian(Sivaganga) says:

    Really superb teacher and father to
    You.God father and guide to all
    other Friends. Happy Father’s Day.
    🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏
    RamBalu

    Like

  3. Anonymous says:

    Dear Suri,
    We all know ” One lamp lights another”
    NVR

    Like

Tks for your views.

