Girineshwar Temple,one of 12 Jyotir Lingas

Man seeks God’s blessings in many ways!

With multitude of Temples and vast areas to be covered from East to West in Bharath,

probably some intelligent Seer stipulated that “You just visit 12 Jyotir Lingas in your lifetime to attain Moksha!”

Girineshwar Temple,one of 12 Jyotir Lingas

Girineshwar Temple,one of 12 Jyotir Lingas

Most of these 12 Jyotir Lingas are 1000 yrs old.

Hence my purposeful Journey,started on a Sankara Jayanthi Day some 10 yrs back,

has completed 10 Jyotir Lingas with this visit to Girineshwar!

Moksha might be there at the end of the Tunnel,as atleast I see some light!

Let me live this moment happily and share my happiness of the visit with you,

if you don’t mind!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Most of the Jyotir Linga architecture in the North,are credited with a devote Princess,Ahilya Holker of Maheshwar.The story goes like this:Ahilya became an young Widow in 1790s and was about to enter the funeral pire along with her husband,when a grief struck King Holker begged her ‘not to do so,as there is none who can take care of his kingdom!’

She not only brought glory to his Kingdom,but methodically built all the Jyotir Linga Temples including the famous Kasi Viswanath of Varanasi!

Of all architectural wonders,I admired her very own Maheshwar,on the Narmada River Bank,tho’ it is not included in the 12 Jyotir Lingas!Maheshwar

Pls visit my other Jyotir lingas at your leisure..
Jyotir Lingams
http://travel.sulekha.com/my-spiritual-journey-to-lord-shiva-nageshwarar-my-9th-jyotir-lingam_travelogue_4585
https://srajahiyer.wordpress.com/2013/07/13/marvels-of-india-triumbakeswararnashik/

http://srajahiyer.sulekha.com/blog/post/2007/04/my-spiritual-journey-to-lord-shiva-varanasi.htm
http://rivr.sulekha.com/my-spiritual-journey-to-lord-shiva-ujjain_231610_blog?utm_source=My-Account&utm_medium=My-Dashboard&utm_campaign=My-Post-Reviews
http://rivr.sulekha.com/my-spiritual-journey-to-lord-shiva-ujjain-part-2_231729_blog?utm_source=My-Account&utm_medium=My-Dashboard&utm_campaign=My-Post-Reviews

http://rivr.sulekha.com/my-spiritual-journey-to-lord-shiva_1337_blog?utm_source=My-Account&utm_medium=My-Dashboard&utm_campaign=My-Post-Reviews

Some of the Pictures are stolen by Sulekha Administrators,I suspect,if you see Blanks!

Thats the price you pay for writing Free Blogs in a 3rd rate Website!

About s.rajah iyer

An MBA.. Interested in writing,Reading..Indian Philosophy
This entry was posted in Jyotir Lingas, Temples of India. Bookmark the permalink.

Tks for your views.

