Jhansi Ki Raani of our time..Malala Yousafzai!

Jansi Ki Raani of My Lifetime..Malala Yousafzai!

Malala Yousafzai

Malala Yousafzai

I am simply amazed,after reading,Malala’s Biography,”I am Malala,the Girl who stood up for Education and was shot by Taliban”at the shear Grit and determination of this Young Girl..I can describe her qualities only as Jhansi Ki Raani of our Time!

Her 18th birthday,is on July 12th!

Happy Birth day to a very very courageous Girl of our Lifetime!

It is the Swat Valley on North Western Pakistan when even the Army under Mushraaf was reluctant to enter ,as Fazlullah ,the Terrorist Chief of that area,created a fear amidst the public and the Govt,none had the guts to corner him!They terrorised the Women,particularly Studious girls like Malala,wishing to study and go to schools and threatened them repeatedly,that going to School for Women is anti Islamic!

Her father Ziauddin is the Real pillar in her life,an Educationist,running a school amidst all obstacles and ,threats from terrorists around him..he is simply God sent Messiah in that area!
I find his constant support to her young courageous daughter ,Malala,to go to school,despite everyday warnings from the Taliban.They had blown to pieces all nearby schools in Mingora and their threat was real.Her guts at a very young age is so amazing that she gives Interviews to BBC in another name ,Gul Makai,meaning Cornflower,a Heroine from Pashtun Folk story!
Every night was a nightmare for this family.Malala is amazing with courage and conviction till that fateful day..She herself narrates this fateful day,which brings uncontrollable tears to our eyes..
“The Terrorists stop the school bus and ask:”Is it the Kushal School Bus?”
Driver Usman Bai thought it was a stupid question,as the name was clearly written on the Bus!
“I need some information on some children!”Terrorist
“You shd go to the office!”Usman Bhai.
Another man in white dress  enters the van..”Look its one of the journalists coming to ask for an Interview”said Moniba,since. I was getting interviews for my campaign for Girls’ Education!
He started asking “Who is Malala?”
None said anything ,but several girls looked at me.I was the only one with my face not covered!
Thats when he lifted up a black pistol.I later learnt it was a Colt 45.Some of the girls screamed.Moniba tells me I squeezed her hands!
My friends say he fired three shots,one after another.The first went thro’ my left eye socket and out under my left shoulder.I slumped forward onto Moniba,blood coming from my left ear,so the other two bullets hit the girls next to me.One bullet went into Shazia’s left hand.The third went thro’ her left shoulder and into the upper right arm of Kainat Riaz.
My friends later told me the gunman’s hand was shaking when he fired.
By the time we got to the hospital,my long hair and Moniba’s lap were full of blood.
Who is Malala?I am Malala and this is my story”…..

This is how she starts this book,which every admirer of Jhansi Ki Raanis,must read!
I salute this Young Girl and wish her a very Happy Birthday on 12th and many more years to live for a cause ,which is unique and most courageous in a community,where the suppression of women will one day explode beyond anyone’s imagination!

If you haven’t heard her inspiring Speech on receiving the Nobel Prize:

Awards n Recognitions:
A 2013 issue of Time magazine featured Yousafzai as one of “The 100 most influential People of the Year” She was the winner of Pakistan’s first National Youth Prize and the recipient of the 2013 Sakharov Prize. In July that year, she spoke at the United Nations to call for worldwide access to education, and in October the Govt of Canada announced its intention that its parliament confer Honorary Canadian Citizen.upon Yousafzai.Even though she is fighting for women’s and children’s rights, she did not describe herself as Feminist when asked on Forbes Under 30 Summit.In February 2014, she was nominated for the World Children’s Prize in Sweden.In May, Yousafzai was granted an honorary doctorate by the University of King’s College in Halifax.Later in 2014, Yousafzai was announced as the co-recipient of the Nobel Prize for 2014,for her struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education. At age 17, Yousafzai is the youngest-ever Nobel Prize laureate.

About s.rajah iyer

An MBA.. Interested in writing,Reading..Indian Philosophy
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Tks for your views.

