Madras Nalla Madras

August 23rd 1639!

377th Birthday of Chennaipatnam aka Madras! Many memories come to me about this great city where I had spent my most memorable part of my life!

An untimely death of my father after his Shashtiaptha Purthy forced me to shift to Madras to afford a decent life taking care of my widowed mother,two unmarried sisters with my loving newly married wife! We rented a nice portion of a bungalow of a Dr. Bushanam in Aspiran Gardens, Kilpauk, overlooking the Watertank supplying water to entire Madras!

Sarasa started developing her Drawing skills by going to the famous Egmore Arts College, where actor Sivakumar also learnt his amazing skills!

Shakunthala Embroidery by Sarasa

Shakunthala Embroidery by Sarasa

An evening drive to Chintamani at Anna Nagar was a Happy occasion!

Roses by Sarasa

Roses by Sarasa

Lion by Sarasa

Lion by Sarasa

I had a nice neighbour Subramania Aiyer, Retd Railway official who advised me to go to Kanchi Mahan for my agony of not getting my sister married! (see the link  :Miracles of Mahaperiyava )

I was also able to settle my widowed mother in buying a house next to the temple in Srirengam as per her wish!

Many friends and relatives used to visit us and we can’t forget  gogoing for a movie in Kilpauk with nearly 10 to 12 young n old squeezed into my Ambassador!

Elmore Govt Arts College

Elmore Govt Arts College

Sarasa used her painting skills to decorate our house!  From Aspiran Gardens we went to Pollachi to take charcharge as GM of Sakthi Textiles!

I have never looked back and came back from Nigeria in 86 to buy a nice house inin Adyar, which was responsible for making both my daughters going to Princeton n Harvard!I was able to make Tantex a household name for the TTKs as a CEO and it was a great going indeed!

Is there anything more I shd ask for from this amazing Chennaipatnam, which Educated me in Upanishads n Bagavat Gita too, Tks to Swami Paramarthananda!

Long live my Madras!

History :

On 22 August 1639, which is referred to asMadras Day, the English East India Companyunder Francis Day bought a small strip of land stretching 3 miles on the Coromandel Coast. They got a license to build a fort and a castle in the contracted region. The rulerDamarla Chennappa Nayakudu, the Nayakaof Chandragiri, granted the English permission to build a factory and warehouse for their trading enterprises. The region was then primarily a fishing village known as “Madraspatnam”.A year later, the English built Fort St. George, the first major English settlement in India,which became the nucleus of the growing colonial city and urban Chennai, grew around this Fort.Post independence the fort housed the Tamil Nadu Assembly until the new Secretariat building was opened in 2010, but shortly afterwards it was again moved back to Fort St. George, due to a change in the Government.

 

About s.rajah iyer

An MBA.. Interested in writing,Reading..Indian Philosophy
This entry was posted in Education, General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Tks for your views.

