Value of Friendship!

Alagappa Classmates (Sitting Left Corner is Yours Truly!)

Alagappa Classmates (Sitting Left Corner is Yours Truly!)

“முகம்நக நட்பது நட்பன்று :நெஞ்சத்துஅகம்நக நட்பது நட்பு! “says Thiruvalluvar, meaning,” Friendship is not the companionship that smileth to the face! It is rather the love that delighteth the Heart! “(VVSAIYER)

Alagappa Engg College Tower

Alagappa Engg College Tower

After a 50 years gap, we, classmates of Alagappa Engg College, Karaikudi got together and many Nostalgic memories took us all to a different world! I recalled an incident in my life, which, firmly got embedded in my heart, that, with good Friends around, Life is indeed Fun all the time!

George 62-67

George 62-67

Jose George Mampilly was my close friend in Alagappa. Due to circumstances, friends closer to me wanted me to contest the Representative for Mechanical engineering Class Elections against George!

George is a happy go lucky guy,always  with a Cigarette on hand and a Smile on his face!

We both were awaiting the results in front of the room where the counting was on! George, smoking, smilingly asked me : “whom did you vote,  Buddy?” 

I got upset and shouted :”You tell me the truth, whom did YOU vote, George! “

George smiled n said ‘I don’t tell lies Suri. Frankly I’ voted for you! ‘

I was taken aback and ashamed too when I said”George, Frankly I voted for’ myself ‘! “

The results were announced when I was elected by a margin of 1 Vote! On that day, I realised the value of Friendship! It can never be measured in weights of Gold! 

Alagappa Classmates

Alagappa Classmates

Alumini After 50 years

Alumini After 50 years

Alagappa Classmates

Alagappa Classmates

What we learn at such great institutions takes us to a glorious path or a great pitfalls too! As JK emphasises “A satisfied Life is better than a Successful Life! Success is a Measurement of You by others but Satisfaction is a Measurement of You, by Your own Self!”

Whenever I cross Tambaram in Chennai, I am highly satisfied looking at the imposing Hindu Mission Hospital, because, when you enter on the right corner where 100s of poor patients are waiting, you can see this Tableau in a Corner :

Rajah Iyer Block,Hindu Mission Hospital,Thambaram

Rajah Iyer Block,Hindu Mission Hospital,Thambaram

And adjusant to this where poor ladies are waiting in the Gynocology Section, you can see this Tableau in a corner :

Kamala Rajah Iyer Block,Hindu Mission Hospital

Kamala Rajah Iyer Block,Hindu Mission Hospital

With wonderful friends everywhere, I am more than Satisfied in my life! What else?

About s.rajah iyer

An MBA.. Interested in writing,Reading..Indian Philosophy
This entry was posted in Education, friends, General, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Value of Friendship!

  1. s.rajah iyer says:

    Tks a lot Balu. Value your blessings Tks again!

    Like

  2. R.Balasubramanian(Sivaganga) says:

    Very Good.We all must do
    Some possible help to poor.
    Praying Almighty to shower
    Blessings on your family.
    RamBalu

    Like

Tks for your views.

