The ‘I’ FACTOR!

 THE ‘I’ FACTOR!

GURU POORNIMA SPECIAL!

Adi Sankara

Someone asked Sankara :

“I want Happiness!”
Sankara replied :

“Its very Easy :(1) First Remove the ‘I’.. it is Ego! (2)Then Remove the ‘want’.. it is Desire (3)Then what you see is ALL Happiness!”

EGO FROM DOB TO DOD!

“Man gets his Ego right on the day he kicks his feet in his mother’s womb itself and he can never get out of it till his last day to the Graveyard “says Sadguru Jaggi Vasudev.

The famous scientist, Albert Einstein, probably aiming at his educated peer group, made an equation for the Ego of a Man :

Einstein on Ego!

” One has to Starve the Ego and Feed the Soul!”
Swami Paramarthananda used to narrate a nice anecdote to nail the Powerful ‘I’ factor like this :
There was a very successful District Collector whose contributions to the entire poor and downtrodden people of the District was very much appreciated by one and all, like the famous Sahayam! His attender was all in admiration of the collector’s help, particularly for his family too in getting his children educated! But the day came when the Collector was transferred to another district,  which many like this attender cdn’t stand at all! The farewell party was over and a Group photo with this famous Collector was also taken. The photographer brought the Group photo when the Attender was also standing near the Collector? Please tell me where the attender’s eyes will get focused on the Photo instantly?  Not on the Famous Collector but to that corner, where he was standing! That’s natural Ego as he can’t even notice with whom he is standing! Everyone of us can’t get out of this ‘I’ but can try to ‘minimize its influence’ , Swamiji used to say!

My Classmate Mouli’s Beautiful Tagore Sketch!

The ‘I’ factor is surely responsible for one’s immeasurable anger too! Because of the big ‘I’ we fail to place ourselves in the other man’s position and understand his problem !
Everyone  knows about the great Nobel Laureate Rabindranath Tagore. The fact is many such great people have another side to them, Short Temper! One day Tagore had to go for an important function at 7AM. The day before,  he had directed his driver to come on time so that Tagore Cd attend the function on time!
Next day 7AM.. Driver absent.. 8AM.. 9..10… 
Tagore was furious beyond words!
Driver came after 2 days and Tagore burst out for 30 minutes, even asking him to quit, without allowing the Driver to speak, who was silently weeping, beyond words!
When the Volcano subsided, the poor driver said, weeping, “Saab, I lost my 3 year old son and I cdn’t send the message as we were all unable to think of anything else and I was far away in my place..!”
For a minute Tagore was dumbstruck to realize his Stupidity! He hugged the Driver and apologized profusely and felt so ashamed, that he wd  never ever get angry anytime in his life. Tagore writes ‘I failed to place myself in his position because of my position, power and arrogance! “
“It is better to Lose your Ego to Save the one you Love, than to Save Your Ego to Lose your Love!”
Let’s learn to Analyze our’ I’ FACTOR on this Guru POORNIMA!

About s.rajah iyer

An MBA.. Interested in writing,Reading..Indian Philosophy
This entry was posted in Education, friends, General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Tks for your views.

